Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Johnny Damon Smokers jersey

On the Goldin Auctions, there is a Johnny Damon Smokers game used jersey. I have been collecting Rays game used items for over 15 years and each year for the Rays throwback games, the team sells the game used jerseys and gives an issued one to the player to keep.

Goldin Auctions has a Damon Smokers jersey that is up for auction that they got from Johnny. I am left to assume one of 2 things.

1) either Johnny wore 2 jerseys in that game.
    2) he is selling the issued one he got from the team as game used.

I have a game used smokers item and I will go through the database and will provide that authentication number for the Damon game used jersey to prove that at bare minimum Damon wore 2 jerseys in that game. My person hunch though is that the Smokers Damon jersey is only issued.

Below is a link to a promotional piece that MLB had to promote that Smokers auction back in 2011, mentioning the Damon jersey

In the promotional piece on the link below it states
    "Johnny Damon was 4-for-4 on July 2 and passed Ted Williams on the all-time hits list. If he should stick around long enough to reach 3,000 hits, you could be assured of having the only signed game-used items from him in a Smokers uni."

http://mlb.mlb.com/news/print.jsp?ym...&vkey=news_bal

Re: Johnny Damon Smokers jersey

MLB never put the holograms of the Smokers game in the database, but I do recall seeing Damon's RAYS (NOT INDIANS) Smokers jersey up for auction back in 2011.

Regardless, the holograms for the game used items for the Smokers game were FJ 316450

FJ 316448 is Melvin Upton's Smokers Jersey which also does not show up in the database. Don't bother contacting MLB about adding these jerseys to the database either because they don't seem to know what to do with them or why they aren't in there.