Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register

Which player's "game worn" jerseys are most commonly faked?

I noticed that REA pulled a Mears A10 Pete Rose jersey after re-evaluation.

That got me thinking about how many questionable Rose jerseys I have seen in the short time I have been collecting.

Whose jerseys do you think are most often faked as being fame worn (excluding Scoreboard jerseys, which were not originally sold as game worn)?

Again, I have limited experience, but it seems like in baseball, Pete Rose and Nolan Ryan (Astros and Rangers) are abundant. In basketball, it seems like Michael Jordan leads the way. Not sure about football.

Banned

Angry Re: Which player's "game worn" jerseys are most commonly faked?

I can offer a few definite problem areas:

MLB; Pujols, McGwire, Yankee stars (current and 1980s/90s), 1980s Schmidt, Rose and Carlton, 1974 Braves Aaron, 1975 Brewers Aaron, Nolan Ryan, Ripken Jr., Frank Thomas 1B mitts, Grieey Jr. (M's and Reds)

NBA: MJ, Kobe, Lebron (especially rookie year)

NFL: Sanders, Favre, Peyton Manning, Montana, Rice, LT (Taylor and Tomlinson), 1990s Cowboys stars, 70s/80s Steelers, Brady, Marino, Elway,

Dave Miedema

Re: Which player's "game worn" jerseys are most commonly faked?

Double-tagged authentic Champion basketball jerseys from the mid-1990s are a problem. I'm not sure if there's even a way to tell the difference between a retail authentic and a team-issued jersey... Maybe someone here knows.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Anthony Nunez
    Historian, USFL Houston Gamblers
    www.Houston-Gamblers.com

During the past 15 years, I have seen as many as six fake Pete Rose home jerseys from 1976.

Over the same time period I have seen dozens of fake Rose hats, helmets, bats, spikes, fielding gloves, batting gloves, etc. In general I have probably seen more fraudulent or questionable Rose items than real ones.