Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Which original NFL teams wore Sand-Knit 1940-1980?

All? Most? Every one except x and y? I pretty sure the Bears, Lions, Pack, Giants, Eagles and Redskins all did, but I'm looking for a definitive list if anyone knows. Swear I read somewhere that even stuff tagged Wilson was actually being made by Sand-Knit for a time, much as Ripon has continued doing in modern times. Help is appreciated!

Re: Which original NFL teams wore Sand-Knit 1940-1980?

I have no knowledge of the Bears ever wearing Sand-Knit.

I have Eagles, Rams, Lions, Raiders, Packers, Vikings, Cardinals, and Browns jerseys that are Sand Knits...

Banned

Quote Originally Posted by hockeytigers View Post
    I have Eagles, Rams, Lions, Raiders, Packers, Vikings, Cardinals, and Browns jerseys that are Sand Knits...
    How about the Steelers and Jets?

Falcons and Steelers for certain since I have a few. Colts definitely as well, they wore "Sand Aire" for Super Bowl V (prototype material for warm-weather games if I'm not mistaken).

With regards to durene jerseys, here are a few that are in my collection or that I've seen first-hand in other collections that are not Sand Knit. Note that MacGregor was not associated with Sand Knit until the 1980s:

1950s Philadelphia Eagles - MacGregor
    Mid-1950s Washington Redskins - Powers
    Late-1950s Detroit Lions - Rawlings
    Late-1950s/early '60s Baltimore Colts - MacGregor
    1960s Chicago Bears - King O'Shea
    1960s Dallas Cowboys - Southland
    1967 Atlanta Falcons black jersey (1-year style with white Falcon sleeve logos) - Rawlings
    Late-1960s St. Louis Cardinals - Russell Southern
    Early-1970s Chicago Bears - Wilson
    Early-1970s San Francisco 49ers - Wilson
    Early-1970s Detroit Lions - Wilson (Lions switched to Wilson only on their white durene jerseys circa 1971 as they continued to wear Sand Knit in their blue durenes)