PDA

View Full Version : Art Shamsky GU bat

metsbats
04-30-2007, 10:35 PM
There's a game used Art Shamsky bat currently on ebay. It's definitely a professional model bat however Shamsky never taped his bats. I was able to confirm with Mr. Shamsky himself via email that he never taped his bats and it's was probably not used by him.

It's too bad because Shamsky bats have got to be one of the toughest to find.

http://cgi.ebay.com/1965-68-Art-Shamsky-Game-Used-Bat-Mets-Reds_W0QQitemZ220107126525QQihZ012QQcategoryZ60596 QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I've emailed the seller to get his thoughts.

-David

pietraynor
05-01-2007, 05:19 PM
I'm no bat expert, but I have purchased items in the past from this ebay seller w/o problems..I looked at the bat, could it have been cracked by Shamsky (untaped), then given to someone who then taped it together..crack looks severe under the tape, maybe they were just trying to hold it together or keep from getting hurt by it. Just some thoughts. Jay.

MSpecht
05-01-2007, 08:09 PM
Hi David--

Here's how the bat stacks up against Shamsky's shipping records.

The bat has center label from1965-1969 (reference C-18 in Vince malta's new book....The version of POWERIZED is references as P-10 (seen between 1964 and 1972). The overlap that would find that combination of labeling is 1965 to 1969.

Shamsky wore # 12 with the Reds in 1965, 1966, and 1967. When he went to the mets in 1968 he switched to # 24.

Given the above, this bat appears to be dated between 1965 and 1967.

Shamsky's shipping records indicate orders of M110 in length of 34 1/2 inches and 32 oz on 3/16/65, 4/7/65, 2/10/66 and 2/18/66 totaling 30 bats. The 1965 orders were Flame treated while the 1966 orders were Natural Finish (not FT) and also were Wide Grain with Weight Marked.