PDA

View Full Version : Starting Up - Detective Work? (ie M Camby 96-97 Gamer)

Tilter
03-10-2007, 03:15 AM
I'm very new to the Hobby. I want to start a collection (to display) and focus on my hometown teams and various players I like.

There is a jersey I saw that popped up on eBay
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200085462731

What way is there to do detective work on a short term auction, where it can be difficult to find photos, match tagging etc. What signs do you look for, and identifiers?

I'm probably leaving a lot of things out, and will ask as I go along. Thanks for any help, much appreciated.

ahuff
03-10-2007, 03:37 PM
Basketball jerseys, I personally believe, are the most difficult to authentic use. I truly believe most are not even worn by a player. However, the seller is very reputable (the only person I'll buy NBA stuff from), and has a terrific collection and sources.

Just call him up and ask about the amount of wear. He is always very helpful.

Good luck!!!

Sincityson
03-10-2007, 03:40 PM
That seems like a low price for a Camby game used jersey. If it's 100% authentic, and confirmed game worn, I'd say it's a great price. Otherwise, it's probably just decent for agame issued.. Best thing with these are team COAs/LOAs, etc.. if the team does in fact issues them. They don't always seem to accompany the jerseys though.

SC

both-teams-played-hard
03-10-2007, 04:33 PM
Basketball jerseys, I personally believe, are the most difficult to authentic use. I truly believe most are not even worn by a player.

I totally agree when it comes to recent superstar jerseys made by Nike. Where are the scrubs and bench-warmers? I only see LeBron and Yao and Kobe, or it just seems like it. Where are the auction houses that sell the modern-day scrubs or even minor stars? Are Dallas Maverick jerseys the only ones truly accountable?

Tilter
03-10-2007, 05:46 PM