PDA

View Full Version : Bucs helmet on ebay

Bawstin45
05-16-2017, 02:15 AM
https://www.ebay.com/itm/112408789623
Was thinking of bidding on this, wondering how it looks to you guys? Was concerned that there's no NFL sticker, but it has the flag. I'm not an expert by any means and am looking for your input.
Thanks,
MIKE

tom1315
05-16-2017, 05:53 AM
Morning, looks very clean with little to no wear on the helmet exterior itself or the facemark. The website www.theclassicstuff.com has a genuine one on page 4 for a punter...that I've looked at several times - just not the right facemark worn by the punter the helmet is subscribed to from my homework. Notice the three stripes are one piece? The eBay lid seems to be three pieces.

Older TB lids typically didn't have the US flag until 9.11 occurred or later. Looking at pics on Getty Images of games when they wore this style helmet too would help.

If you search on this site you'll find some genuine gamers to compare this eBay lid to.

I'm not seeing enough to say I'd purchase it as a worn gamer.

I'd suggest more questions re the helmet too but the stripes and lack of wear dismiss it for me.

Tom

Bawstin45
05-16-2017, 08:28 AM
Tom,
Thanks for the reply. I'm trying to have the seller see if there's a date inside so I can try and find any others with the flag, I know the NFL did use the flag during desert storm I believe. It does look really clean, seller says its from a lady that worked for the team, maybe it's just game issued? I am definitely looking for a bucs gamer but I may pass on this one.
Thanks again,
MIKE

wfl1974
05-16-2017, 05:07 PM