PDA

View Full Version : Size of Tim Duncan Reebok game used jersey

Bench warmer
05-12-2017, 01:55 PM
Hi folks,
recently I came across Duncan Spurs what is supposed to be a game used jersey from 2005-06 season.

http://i63.tinypic.com/6yo3o3.jpg
http://i63.tinypic.com/2i222yd.jpg
http://i63.tinypic.com/2hf44gi.jpg

Size tag says 56+4". I googled Duncan gamers from the same season to compare and the all three I managed to find (two whites and one black) were size 54+4".
I'm not an expert but the details of this particular one look good to me. I'd try to get a few close up pics in addition.
Thus I'm curious:
1) Did Duncan wear two different sizes in the same season (2005-06)?
As far as I know, some players used to do that (e.g. LBJ in his rookie season if I'm not wrong).
2) Did Reebok retail pro cuts back then?
If positive, how to spot the difference between pro cut and issued/used? Just by jock tag?
3) Is there any thread (either on this board or elsewhere) to check superstar players jersey sizes season by season?

Tnx folks.

shermdawurm
05-12-2017, 07:14 PM
I don't know about the size difference but the jersey does look atleast team issued to me. With that said, its possible that this could have been a blank team issued jersey that was customized to become a Tim Duncan jersey. Heres a recent thread talking about discrepancies regarding 2001-02 Spurs jerseys.
http://www.gameuseduniverse.com/vb_forum/showthread.php?t=69634&highlight=spurs

I'm not familiar with Spurs jerseys but I know that the Sonics would write the player's jersey # and last name on their tags for their game worn reebok jerseys (2001-2008).

sox83cubs84
05-12-2017, 11:18 PM
With some of the Spurs jerseys I have examined, I noticed non-team issued jerseys that carried proper tagging and sometimes were sized correctly, but the color scheme of the U/spur logo on the front was off. I'd check that against Getty or another photo site to examine that point of possible concern.

Dave Miedema

Bench warmer