PDA

View Full Version : Insurance for your collection?

porsche544
04-17-2006, 11:17 PM
Hi forum members,
I've been collecting for almost seven years and have a collection worth $15-$20k. Should I be looking to insure these items? Has anyone have good or bad experiences with insuring their collection? What's the best and most reliable company out there in the northeast? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Gerald

geoff
04-18-2006, 02:35 AM
That is a very good question.Something i would not mind knowing myself

mwbosoxfan
04-18-2006, 08:06 AM
I visited with my local insurance agent with whom I carry my homeowner's and car insurance. He indicated to me that special items, such as jewelery and collectibles with some value can and should be listed separately on a schedule in addition to the blanket amount covering the normal contents of your home. Most homeowner's policies do not have a problem with this. He suggested that the more extensive the information provided on the schedule, the easier it would be to insure, and more importantly, receive settlement in the unfortunate event of a loss. He indicated that provence of value is very important. Original invoices, published price guides, or letters from reputable dealers are necessary in order to properly insure collectibles with extreme values. Obviously, multiple sources to corroborate the value of rare items would be beneficial.

Eric
04-18-2006, 09:48 AM
That is also the case with my collectibles insurance.

I am with Chubb, and every few months I send them an updated Excel sheet listing the items in my collection and any additions/deletions.

On that list I provide details on the item- player name, year, item, amount paid, where i got it and any provenance.

I like the fact that they have the items insured with each item specifically listed in the statement.
Eric

jonincleve
04-18-2006, 10:49 AM