PDA

View Full Version : Looking for collectors from Canada

alainbou
11-30-2015, 12:29 PM
Hello everyone
Any collectors from Canada out there? I'm interested to hear if you're buying less because of the weak canadian dollar...I'm new to the hobby (I'm a Montreal Expos collector) but adding 30% to every price i see is hard to swallow! Also, i'd like to hear your tips about shipping cost to Canada. I recently bought a Pete Rose autographed baseball from Heritage Auctions. They ship with Fed Ex so i had to pay 20$ extra for brokerage fee! That hurts!!!
Alain

sox83cubs84
11-30-2015, 07:00 PM
I'm from the Chicago area in the US, and I've not had a problem sending items to Canada. There are means by phone and Internet here of getting postage rates based on weight and type of shipment. I'd never turn down a Canadian buyer, all factors being equal.

Dave Miedema

alainbou
11-30-2015, 09:49 PM
Hello Dave
I guess my post wasn't clear...I'm the one living in Canada. The canadian dollar is so weak that it's very expensive for us Canadians to buy things south of the border. As for the shipping cost, it's also very expensive to have something shipped to Canada.
Alain

JDubbs73
12-04-2015, 12:14 PM
I'm stateside, but have heard the same thing from many of the Canadian hockey collectors I know or have dealt with. The exchange rate is one thing (and is certainly affecting sales/trades), but the postage is extreme. The last deal I completed cost me (and the seller) CAD$50 to ship to Florida with tracking, and that was post (not express).

danesei@yahoo.com
12-04-2015, 02:46 PM
Hello Dave
I guess my post wasn't clear...I'm the one living in Canada. The canadian dollar is so weak that it's very expensive for us Canadians to buy things south of the border. As for the shipping cost, it's also very expensive to have something shipped to Canada.
Alain