PDA

View Full Version : Pete Rose Reds Jersey-waht Year?

hblakewolf
01-07-2007, 08:58 PM
Forum Readers-
Currently on Ebay is a "Pete Rose mid 1970's jersey"

http://cgi.ebay.com/Authentic-original-Pete-Rose-used-game-Jersey-with-CoA_W0QQitemZ330072675463QQihZ014QQcategoryZ27264Q QrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Although Grey Flannel authenticated it as a mid 1970's, I have no idea what it's based on. No year tag, and no evidence of a year at all. I've had quite a few of this style Rawlings Reds home jerseys, and every one had a year tag.

Any Forum Readers or Reds experts care to tell me how it can be dated or a LOA provided indicating it's from a specific year?

Howard Wolf
hblakewolf@patmedia.net

bscott
01-08-2007, 10:55 AM
Well, I'm no expert on the details of this Pete Rose jersey, but the photos in the ebay listing do bring up another point about buying and selling GU items.

The jersey is framed. Behind glass. As such, it is difficult to examine and determine details that could verify the jersey's authenticity. Not to mention that collectors often love to touch, smell, and look at the GU items they are about to purchase.

How collectors decide to display or store their own items is a matter of personal preference, but when selling an item, owners should realize that they cannot hide their bats and jerseys behind lucite boxes or glass frames. It doesn't help the seller or the buyer. The seller isn't going to get top dollar and the buyer doesn't know precisely what he/she is getting. This may be obvious to the advanced collectors, but it still happens on ebay quite frequently.

To me, the "encased" GU item signifies one of two things:
one, that the owner could have something to hide about the item.
or two, that the owner is naive to the fact that every individual has different ideas as to how to display GU items. Not everyone likes to frame jerseys or keep GU bats in lucite cases.