PDA

View Full Version : Game Used NFL Balls

JDF5244
11-27-2014, 04:35 PM
So, I've been taking a look at some Game-Used NFL balls….I'm discovering that it's a bit different from MLB Game-Used balls in that you have no way of reconciling the ball you're purchasing to a certain play or series (aside from photo-matching I suppose). Therefore, I find myself not as interested as the MLB Game-Used balls I've been purchasing.
Anyone else have a thought on this? I'm a rookie collector of Game-Used gear for sure, so if my thought process is flawed here, please let me know.
Happy Thanksgiving!
JDF

BarryMeisel
11-27-2014, 06:59 PM
Hi JDF,

You bring up an interesting comparison, and I'm happy to offer some information while watching Eagles-Cowboys and digesting turkey (apple pie to come).

We work with the Washington Redskins and San Diego Chargers, and offer game-used balls for both. So I can offer these insights:

According to the NFL Rule Book, each team provides 12 footballs, with their team name pre-printed on it, for use in an NFL game. The ref also adds eight Kicking balls (marked with a K) for use in the game. Each team uses its ball when it is on offense.

Two hours and 15 minutes before each game, the team provides these balls to the officials, who check to make sure they are properly sized and inflated. The referee then provides his individual mark (unique to him) on each ball. We have seen balls marked with initials, squiggles, anchors, and other interesting markings.

I think there was a thread on this Forum not too long ago identifying some NFL referees' marks.

MeiGray gets four balls from each game from the Redskins, two from each game from the Chargers. We try to photo match the balls to TDs, important plays, etc. Sometimes we can, sometimes we cannot. The messier the field, the easier it is to photo match because the balls come to us with more dirt, scuffs, field paint, etc., on them.