PDA

View Full Version : Sooo... Ever purchase a game used corked bat.

EricTheRed44
01-03-2014, 03:56 PM
Hello,

I recently purchased a game used bat from an auction house. I have zero experience with corked bats or tampered bats, but the top of the bat looks somewhat odd and theres a circle at the top of the bat with the paint somewhat chipping off all the way around the circle. It is not only chipping, it looks... doctored. I've seen my fair share of bats... but I've never seen one like this. It may not be corked, but it looks fairly... off.

I may post photos of the top of the bat here soon (just the top).
Was wondering if anyone had purchased a corked bat , and if so, I was wondering how it looked at the top.

Anyway, probably nothing... buy if I do a little research and it still makes me wonder, I may look into getting it x-rayed.

EricTheRed44
01-03-2014, 03:57 PM
And just so you dont draw any wrong conclusions... it is not an Eric Davis bat.

Sportskansascity
01-03-2014, 04:14 PM
Email me a pic and I'll take a look if you'd like. I've got a gu bat that has been corked as well.

1983orioles@gmail.com

HawaiiSportsNut
01-03-2014, 05:17 PM
Can't wait to see the pics.

EricTheRed44
01-03-2014, 05:34 PM
Here are a few pics. The odd thing is circle where you see the holes or where its chipped, the entire circle you see in pic seems slight raised where it looks like someone painted over it with black paint. Inside the circle it is back down to the normal surface.

Thoughts? Could be nothing but when i got the bat its the first thing I noticed.

EricTheRed44
01-03-2014, 05:47 PM
sooo... typical and not anything? Or does it look a little iffy to anyone?

HawaiiSportsNut
01-03-2014, 05:51 PM
Can you see if the wood grain in the center of the bat matches up to the grains on the outer side of the bat end. If it does in may not be anything, however if it doesn't, it could be suspect.

EricTheRed44
01-03-2014, 06:02 PM