PDA

View Full Version : How to build batting helemt stands... very inexpensive

jake33
10-06-2013, 12:25 PM
Hi all,

I am in the final touches of making my Tampa Bay Rays wall of game sued helmets showing every style logo that the team has ever worn. From over a decade of collecting, I wanted to improve the quality of the batting helmet stands that I bought. I have 22 game used batting helmets, some costing $300+, so why have a crap bating helmet stand?

From working in plastics as a sales rep, the only batting helmet stands that are out there are total junk made of horrible plastic and are extremely over priced. At $12 - $18 a pop + shipping, it is just ridiculous.

So, the last week or so I wanted to look for a cost effect way of making a nice batting helmet stand that won't bend and warp.

I am a awful builder and don't enjoy making things, and this was really easy to do.....

I will be posting on this thread how I did this and

jake33
10-06-2013, 12:29 PM
First off I went to Lowe's to get the supplies. Lowe's has some real morons that work there let me say, but I went to Lowe's because I talked them into doing the material cutting for me.

Word to the wise, call ahead and ask if they will cut PVC and cut acrylic glass. DO NOT tell them specifically HOW MANY cuts it will be, because they will be pissed when they see how much labor will be involved on their end.
Once they commit to doing it though, they won't go back on their word....

This batting helmet stand that I made will hold up great with the new style batting helmets that are a little heavier.

jake33
10-06-2013, 12:50 PM
The material below will get you to have 24 batting helmet stands....

first item you need is

Lowe's Item #: 239981
This is a 18" x 24" sheet that I had cut into 4" x 4" squares
Cost for this is $19.97 and most stores should carry this sheet.
The 1st 2 cuts on acrylic at the store are free, then 50 cents extra per cut, should be about $6.50 for the cuts.

Next item you will need is