PDA

View Full Version : New to Game Used

bmjock69
06-03-2013, 07:30 PM
Hello everyone. Im very new to game used and I have a couple of questions that have probably been discussed here before. If you have links, that would be great. The reason Im making the new thread is so I can resource this one thread. So...without further adieu...

1. How do you go about photo matching items that are 10, 15, 20 years old or even older?

2. Is there a resource that can date hats, jerseys, batting gloves, etc by the way the item is made like stitching, tags, etc?

3. What is the common opinion if you have a player inscribe "game used" when they sign the item?

4. How do people feel about auction houses "attributing to..." with no other documentation?

If I think of any more questions, I will post them. But for now, these are the things I want to know the most.

Please be patient with me...Im new to this! :o

sportsnbikes
06-03-2013, 07:54 PM
Welcome! I don't really have a ton of answers but a lot of very knowledgeable people on here. Someone can answer them!

spartakid
06-03-2013, 10:08 PM
Bunch of view without a response, so I'll thrown something out there.

1. Much more difficult for obvious reasons, but I've seen it done. Just have to comb through the available pictures/newspapers, etc and hope you find something. Definitely more difficult than matching a bat from a year ago for example.

2. Not sure on this

3. All about personal preference, some people like their items signed, others don't. Though if you choose to get an item signed, I think most would agree them inscribing is as GU would increase the value/desire for the item.

4.DO YOUR OWN HOMEWORK. You'll see countless threads about this, even MLB has been known to mess up on holograms (though much less likely when compared to other things). Unless of course it comes with a letter from Lou Lampson, in which case it's worth it's weight in gold :rolleyes: (Do a search on him).

Misha
06-03-2013, 10:35 PM