PDA

View Full Version : 1989 Road Schmidt in Vintage Authentics

darylv1
10-27-2006, 08:55 AM
Has anyone had the opportunity to see the pics of 1989 Road Schmidt in Vintage Authentics auction yet? I've been collecting Phillies jerseys for 10 years and never recall seeing vertical arch style lettering on Rawlings jerseys...I thought it should always be block lettering. Unless I missed something major over the years, Phillies stopped wearing Wilson jerseys with vertical arch lettering in 1986. Am I incorrect?

What makes it more obvious is that they have a 1989 home jersey in the same auction with the block lettering on the back - and there is an obvious difference. I casually showed the two pictures to my wife and she picked it out in a matter of seconds.

The description says that it matches known exemplars. That's SIMPLY IMPOSSIBLE! I emailed Vintage Authentics to ask about it, but have not received a response.

I know this has been discussed many, many times before, but HOW could Lou Lampson write a LOA for this jersey and HOW can he continue to do what he does? Also, HOW can some auction companies continue to list suspect items, not respond to questions about items, and still continue to stay in business?

hblakewolf
10-27-2006, 09:19 AM
Daryl-
Over the last few days, I have been asked by at least 6 collectors to comment on this jersey.

The link is:
http://vintageauthentics.at.truition.com/cgi-bin/ncommerce3/ProductDisplay?prrfnbr=76030970&prmenbr=57735959&aunbr=76377680

There is absolutely no way this is a team issued Schmidt 1989 gamer. My 4 year old daughter would know that the vertical arch name on back is completely incorrect for a 1989 jersey. The Phillies changed to block lettering names on back in 1986, the first year they changed vendors from Wilson to Rawlings.

Here is a photo of a 1989 road Don Carmen currently for sale from Ball Park Heroes, with the correct name on back:
http://www.ballparkheroes.net/Carman%203.jpg