PDA

View Full Version : Help with Whitey Lockman '62 uniform

ferrisfain41
10-10-2012, 01:24 PM
On earlier occasions, I asked for help on identifying this jersey as belonging to Lockman. Was not able to show you pix. But now I can.

Goal is to figure out why Lockman is given no 8, which was not the jersey he wore in 1962.
Or did he?
Thanks for any insights, Dave chime in here as an expert, I got this from Dick Dobbins, who called it "a beautiful jersey".

WadeInBmore
10-10-2012, 02:28 PM
According to baseball reference whitey lockman played his last year of professional ball (major league ball) in 1960.

From 72-74 he managed the cubs.

Interesting.

Wade

WadeInBmore
10-10-2012, 02:32 PM
In 1965 he started his managing career in the cubs system.

He last played for the giants in 1958. He finished his career in a Cincinnati jersey.

Was he a coach for the giants before he had that managing stint?

Wade

cliffjmp33
10-10-2012, 02:41 PM
Someone can confirm, but I think I read he was the Giants' 3rd Base coach from 1961-61, but he didn't wear/wasn't issued the number that ferrisfain41 has posted.

WadeInBmore
10-10-2012, 02:47 PM
According to Wikipedia (which everyone knows you can trust) Lockman was the Giants 3B coach in 62 wearing number 3. Both Wikipedia and baseball almanac show NO #8 on the roster or coaching staff in 62.

He coached as number 3 during the 63 and 64 season. Cookie Lavagetto joined the team in 1964 as #8. In 65 lockman didn't return to the team but Cookie did...as number 8.

If I find more I will post up.

Wade

WadeInBmore
10-10-2012, 02:49 PM
In 1961 Lockman was issued multiple jersey numbers. #3 & #6

sox83cubs84
10-10-2012, 03:46 PM
Is it possible that the jersey had a number change for minor league recycling? I couldn't say for sure without seeing the jersey, but it can't be ruled out until examined.

Dave Miedema

lon lewis
10-10-2012, 08:49 PM