PDA

View Full Version : New Twins Collector

tony433433
04-12-2012, 03:09 PM
Hey guys, first time typer, long time lurker.

I am relatively new to the GU collecting ring, but the GU flu hit me hard after acquiring my first awesome piece of memorabilia. After the last game of the year, as the Twins avoided losing game #100, the players were handing out stuff to the crowd. I got in a position to be in the front row and tried my best at putting myself in a good position.

I should note that only women and young children seemed to be getting the goods, though I could understand why. Luckily I had talked to Luke Hughes the game before as he had tried to help me out on my quest for getting all of the Twins players to sign a canvas of Target Field. He noticed me again during warm-ups for game 162 and chatted quickly and I thought that was that.

Fast forward back to the end of 162; Luke Hughes steps out of the dugout, a section or two to my left, looking like he was ready to give away something sweet. I then called out "Luuuuuuke", hoping he would remember me. HE DID!! He went back in the dugout, brought out two bats and gave me one and then a second which I then looked at the kid next to me and Luke nodded and I gave him the 2nd bat.

It was bliss, I nearly got one when I was 12 years old, but I had the shorter of the arms between my best friend and I, so this was like redeeming myself AND helping out a little guy in the process.

The bat was a Drew Butera Rawlings Big Stick model (see the pictures attached), but he confirmed when i went to Spring Training this year that it was used by him.

So, that bug hit hard and I know have everything you see in the pictures and then some.

Bats:
Drew Butera - Rawlings Big Stick - Used by Luke Hughes
Michael Cuddyer - LVS C360 - MLB Hologram
Michael Cuddyer - Mash Bat
Ben Revere - LVS M9 M110 - Signed from Ben's 2010 Spring Training (#87)
Trevor Plouffe - MaxBats 118 - Signed and personalized to me