PDA

View Full Version : Jerry Rice Gamer on ebay?

respo
10-31-2011, 07:50 AM
http://www.ebay.com/itm/230690284007?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649#ht_500wt_1170

What are your thoughts on this? looks iffy

CollectGU
10-31-2011, 07:10 PM
I am not an expert on Niners gamers. Could you specify what you think is "iffy" about the jersey?

Thanks,
Dave

nickacs
10-31-2011, 07:45 PM
GUU member 'Solarlottry' is your man to ask! He is the 49'ers KING when it comes to anything 49'er GU..

Good luck!

legaleagle92481
11-02-2011, 09:26 AM
The jersey doesn't appear to show any use. Even if it was washed if it were used in multiple games as they were back then there should be something indicating use. This jersey looks like it is brand new. The seller also has a very low feedback rating.

solarlottry
11-03-2011, 02:47 AM
One must be extremely careful when buying game used 49er shirts from 1996-1998. For one thing almost exactly the same jerseys were sold to the public. The company that made and provided these jerseys to the team went out of business a # of years ago and sold their entire inventory online, which included a # of Rice and Steve Young 1996 shirts. These shirts were identical to the jerseys worn by the team except that the team issued shirts had a different code printed on the flag tag that was attached to the neck tagging.

Problem is that these flag tags had different codes for different players and the code for one player meaning game used may have been the code for a retail shirt for another player.

Making things more confusing is that the 49ers recycled many of these gamers for use in 1997 and even into 1998. I have 2 photo-matched game used Steve Young 1997 shirts that were both recycled from 1996. In 1996 they were used by another player as one of the shirts has a # change. Both shirts have remnants of the 50th patch.