PDA

View Full Version : Need help making local connection

Number13
08-02-2011, 02:26 AM
I'm new to the GU world and need some advice on trying to make a connection with a local team. I sent them an email stating if they sell GU items. They got back to me stating they sell the jerseys at the end of the year. They also told me that they have never sold bats or helmets, but would if I was interested.

I sent an email back stating I would be interested in helmets and bats. The question I now have is, where do I go from here? I offerred to meet with them to talk with them about it. Is that a good idea? What would be fair prices if I bought jerseys, bats or helmets in volume? Since I would be the first to purchase their helmets and bats am I at an advantage or no?

Also, since I collect only a specific #, do people in the GU world do trades?

Any advice would help. And if I missed anything please let me know.

coxfan
08-02-2011, 05:23 AM
Meeting face-to-face is always a good idea. You can't lose from friendly communication. I'd think that you'd probably have an advantage because they're just as new to selling as you are to buying. Just as new buyers often overpay because they don't know cheaper prices are available, new sellers may undercharge for analogous reasons. In other words, you won't have competing buyers to give them a clearer idea of the prices they might get.

However, I missed in your post what level your local team is. If they're a low-level minor-league team, prices should be very low. I bought minor-league cracked g-u bats years ago from a Class-A team for around $5, though they had the player's numbers. About four years ago, I bought a AAA team's uncracked g-u bat for $25.

Number13
08-02-2011, 01:50 PM
Thanks for the insight. The baseball team is from the Northwest League which consists of teams in Wisconsin, Michigan, and Minnesota.

Number13
08-02-2011, 01:58 PM