PDA

View Full Version : Game used gloves , how do you know a fake from real???

camarokids
08-28-2006, 10:44 AM
Hi , I have a question . What is stopping someone from buying a pro model glove and having a players name sewn into the leather and then play catch with it for awhile to give it "use" . Then turn around and sell it as a game used item for that particular player . Has anyone ever seen this happen before ? :):):):):):):):)

ahuff
08-28-2006, 04:34 PM
I am by no means an expert in game used gloves. However, I do have one which I purchased from Locker Room Memorabilia. That is they only way to go, as they get photos of the athlete signing the glove and state when and where it was signed and what season it was used. They also include any significant notes about the season or game an item was used. Also, many of their items show tons of use, unlike many of the ones you see on the market from similar companies. If they have light use, they clearly state so.

Also, I know I have tried locally to find a place that would stitch my son's name into his glove. I was told by everyone I asked that they were unable, as the leather was too difficult for their machines to go through. Not saying it couldn't be done, but it certainly wouldn't be very easy to have done.

Airtron1
08-28-2006, 07:41 PM
a guy named the glove doctor can do it i found him online and he made a replica glove for me a few years back couldnt tell the difference between that glove and a gamer kinda scary i got it signed and still have it today incase your wondering it was a carlos baerga glove

Airtron1
08-28-2006, 07:43 PM
here is the link scroll down 80 bucks for the service
http://www.thesportsdoctor.com/GD.html
one reason gloves scare me

rose14
08-29-2006, 10:28 AM