PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a new collector

Skizzick
04-12-2011, 03:33 PM
Hey guys,

Allow me to introduce myself. I am new to the forum. My name is Zack, and I have been collecting autographs for about six years. I have recently got into collecting game used stuff. I live in the Philly/South Jersey area and I am hoping to hit a bunch of minor league games this season. If anybody on here can give me some advice for obtaining game used bats/cleats/gloves/jerseys from the minor leagues to add to my collection I would greatly appreciate it.

I look forward to discussing all things game used and sports, and hopefully trading with you in the future. Thanks!

camarokids
04-12-2011, 05:30 PM
Welcome Zach, that is my sons name.

One thing that worked best for me back in the day. While collecting autographs, I would ask the player if they crack a bat and if I am around will they give it to me.

Also, show them a picture of your collection so they know you are not selling memorabilia...\

Ask if they have an old glove you can have.

shoremen44
04-12-2011, 05:36 PM
Zack,
Welcome... I live in South Jersey as well...

My best piece of advice is ask, ask, ask... there are guys on here that have collected anything and everything... there is a ton of junk out there and unfortunately some unscrupulous people

the guys on this forum are a great source for a new collector...

you will find that many of the people on this forum are not only very knowledgable, but great guys, and you will find many new friends

mad87man
04-12-2011, 07:03 PM
Hey Zack,
Welcome, i am also a newer member so don't know to much about the hobby. I also live in NJ but North.

The one piece of advice i can give you is to collect the players/teams you like. Other wise it can get very expensive and very fast. It also takes away money from buying something you really want from your team/player. Always have fun.

bdeol4
04-12-2011, 09:26 PM
Hey Zack,