08-22-2006, 07:31 PM
Hi there.

I recently bought a lot of bats from a source in the Mariners organization,
and on one of the bats are the characters pictured below. I'm pretty sure
the characters are not Korean, and the woman at the local teriyaki place
thought they looked more Chinese than Japanese, though she was not
sure.

The bat is made in Japan by Mizuno.

Can anyone out there decipher what the characters mean?

Thanks,

Zeb Fowler

http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/951/batprintvc8.jpg

ChrisCavalier
08-22-2006, 08:34 PM
Hi there.

I recently bought a lot of bats from a source in the Mariners organization,
and on one of the bats are the characters pictured below. I'm pretty sure
the characters are not Korean, and the woman at the local teriyaki place
thought they looked more Chinese than Japanese, though she was not
sure.

The bat is made in Japan by Mizuno.

Can anyone out there decipher what the characters mean?

Thanks,

Zeb Fowler
Hello Zeb,

I studied Chinese while I was at Georgetown University and I will say the characters do resemble those in the Chinese language. However, these characters are actually Japanese (as might be expected since the bat was actually made in Japan).

I checked with my wife (who is Chinese) and the she said that, in Chinese, the second character translates to "select" while the third and fourth characters roughly translate to "raw materials" (the first character doesn't really have a Chinese equivalent). Though I can't give a Japanese translation, I would think the meaning in Japanese would probably be along those lines.

Do we have any Japanese speaking members who can help further?

Sincerely,
Christopher Cavalier

gnishiyama
08-22-2006, 09:16 PM
Hello Zeb,

The characters you see on the Mizuno bat is Japanese and it says "gen-sen-so-zie." This roughly translates to "premium material" or " of the highest quality"
Hope this helps.

Goh Nishiyama

Robert Sanders
08-23-2006, 01:45 AM