PDA

View Full Version : Happy Father's Day and BP Baseballs...

xpress34
06-21-2010, 12:18 AM
Went to watch the Rox and Brew Crew at Coors Field today with the wife and kid...

We went early to go behind home plate for autograph Sunday (I'm a disabled vet, so I get wheelchair companion seats which gets access behind home plate on autograph Sundays) and I got the following done (with help from the wife and kid):

Manuel Corpas - three times
Jeff Francis (and got one of his Father's Day wrist bands!) GU
Carlos Gonzalez - twice (he did say the Spring Training GU bat I brought down looked like his, but the 31 in the 'cup' means he probably gave it to someone else to use at Spring Training - it has his 5 and is dated 2/2/10 on the knob)
Miguel Olivo - three times
Ubaldo Jimenez- twice
Korey Hart
Rickie Weeks
Willie Randolph

and a great photo with Tommy LaSorda!!! He was at Coors Field for the cure cancer benefit...

I also got a BP ball that went off the pitcher's screen and came right back to me (Brew Crew was still taking BP when we down on the field).

The ball says 'BODY GLOVE' in blue sharpie on the sweet spot. A friend's kid got a ball thrown to him from Trevor Hoffman that said 'Hoff & Coff' on Black Sharpie on the sweet spot.

Other friends got bals that said, 'Nice Catch', 'Happy Father's Day', 'Way to Go', etc...

Just wondering if this is normal for Brewers BP balls or if it is a way to keep BP balls from showing up later listed as GU balls?

All the best and Happy Father's Day!!!

- Chris

kylehess10
06-21-2010, 12:35 AM
Nice......I got 4 BP balls at the Braves/Royals game today and none had any writing on them for Fathers Day. Those seem really interesting though. Haven't seen writing like that yet.

xpress34
06-21-2010, 12:56 AM
Nice......I got 4 BP balls at the Braves/Royals game today and none had any writing on them for Fathers Day. Those seem really interesting though. Haven't seen writing like that yet.

Kyle -