PDA

View Full Version : Unique 2006 Mets tagging

GrndSlm
07-05-2006, 11:30 PM
I recently bought a 2006 Orlando Hernandez jersey from Steiner Sports and it had a very unique tagging. It doesnt show a size tag and the set number is "E". Any thoughts on this ?

Juan Iglesias

Eric
07-05-2006, 11:34 PM
Juan

interesting detail. Any pics of the tagging?
Eric

GrndSlm
07-05-2006, 11:44 PM
Can I email it to you? I guess I am a forum rookie and havent figured out how to post the image....

Juan

trsent
07-06-2006, 12:54 AM
You can email it to me and I'll post it on the forum. I am also curious to see it. Send to: joel@alpert.net

cbb5
07-06-2006, 06:07 AM
This is not unique to this year. Set "E" has appeared in past years on several jerseys that I have seen. I am guessing it means "extra". Hernandez came over in a trade and the jersey was most likely made up with an extra blank that the team had for such purposes. I would like to verify with Charlie Samuels somehow, but he is almost impossible to get hold of.
Chris

tknorm
07-06-2006, 07:48 PM
I had heard that Set E was for "end" of the year, and several 2004 Mets jerseys I saw with set E tags had the Bob Murphy patch that was worn in August and September. This El Duque jersey being a current year makes me think E might not be End of Year. Anyone else have any ideas?

metsbats
07-06-2006, 08:38 PM
Starting in 2003 the Mets starting tagging jersey's with set 1 - 6 and set E. I don't believe there were any other alpha sets other than E.

I took a survey of what has been offered in GF auctions since 2003 and here's what I came up with:

-2003 Tom Glavine Home White set 2, sz 44, +1"Slv +1" body
-2003 Mike Piazza Black Home set 3, sz 50
-2003 Mike Piazza Home White set 6, sz 50
-2003 Mike Stanton Home white set 1, sz 48 +1"body, +1"Slv
-2003 Jeremy Burnitz BLK road set 3, sz 50
-2003 Jason Philips Home Pinstripe set E,sz 50
-2003 Ty Wigginton Home Pinstripe set 2, sz 50
-2003 Al Leiter BlK road set 2, sz 50 +1"body