PDA

View Full Version : Storing & Preserving Game Used Jerseys

dcgreg25
03-25-2010, 03:41 PM
In the past, I never gave much thought to preservation of my jerseys. My standard method for storing jerseys included placing them in large zip-lock bags and placing these bags in large plastic bins away from the sunlight. One day, while discussing this “storage method” with my wife, a museum exhibit designer, she schooled me in some basics regarding the proper care and preservation of textiles/jerseys. This caused me to dig a little deeper and evaluate how I was storing my jerseys.

Artifact conservation and preservation is a vast field and I am far from an expert. However from the limited research I have conducted, there are some common sense basics I have learned and applied to my collection. Most of the jerseys in my collection are modern-era (1980-present) but as they age, I wanted to make sure I was taking proper care of them. What follows is a brief primer on taking care of your game used jerseys to maximize their lifespan. This article may be overkill for many. However, given the value of some of the jerseys owned by members of this site, I figured I would share what I have learned.

Light
Natural light is the most common enemy of jerseys that are being displayed. One of the basics of preservation is to avoid displaying any items near windows that received direct sunlight. Filters can be applied to windows and/or UV glass used to protect the items but this is one of the single most important elements in preservation. While natural light is the most destructive, fluorescent and halogen lights can also produce large amounts of damaging UV radiation. There are several filters available online and at some hardware stores that can be placed on the bulbs to reduce the amount of UV exposure to jerseys that are being displayed.

Temperature