PDA

View Full Version : My game used Barry Bonds new addition

bsikma25
02-15-2010, 02:33 PM
What do you guys think about my newest Barry Bonds pickup? Thanks for any feedback in advance.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=220549457470&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300392489776&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT

allstarsplus
02-15-2010, 02:48 PM
Amazing the price on the wristbands as those used to see for $250 and up.

This message on the wristband now has so much irony to it:

dcgreg25
02-15-2010, 02:52 PM
bsikma25, welcome to the board. I am far from a Bonds expert but the style of glove appears to match a pair I previously owned. I am sure a Bonds collector can address this in more detail. The only difference I noticed was the pair I owned had a Bonds hologram on them and I believe that Bonds does not let many (if any) items slip through the cracks.

Just a heads-up that there is a monthly pick-up thread for showing off your purchases in the Game Used Memorabilia Discussion. I realize you had a question as to the authenticity of the gloves so you posted it here but wanted to make you aware if you had not already seen it.

joelsabi
02-15-2010, 09:24 PM
I did some research and came up with this for the wristbands. I am pretty sure there are other members here that have these MIMS wristband in their collection and would be helpful.

James Mims was the creator of the wristbands in 1988. He was a baseball player at USC and became friends with Barry Bonds though a mutual friend Dusty Baker. I guess they had lots in common since Arizona State and USC are in the same league. Bonds gave Mims $5000 to start up his company and Bonds became his first customer.

So Barry Bonds was the first one to use the wristband in 1988, and Gary Sheffield and Alex Rodriguez were the last ones to use them in 2003.

slambam
02-15-2010, 09:39 PM