PDA

View Full Version : Muhammad Ali Used & Bloodied Gloves--HELP!

buc
10-14-2009, 02:56 PM
Need some opinions on the gloves being auctioned off by Vintage Authentics. The auction ends tomorrow night, so if you guys could give me your opinion on the value, I would certainly appreciate it. Does the blood add to the value in your opinion? I'm a huge boxing fan and I don't recall ever seeing Ali actual used stuff being auctioned off (except for robes, but they got out of my price range QUICK,) so this would kind of be a holy grail for me.

staindsox
10-14-2009, 07:49 PM
I am not an expert in collecting fight worn stuff, but would toss out two major questions I would want answered before feeling comfortable enough to even consider bidding:

1) Would he have worn 12 oz gloves...even in sparring? What were regulation gloves when these were supposedly used by Ali? If they were 12s, that would make me feel better. If they were, for example, 16s, I couldn't see a guy sparring with lighter than regulation gloves. Even the speed bag wouldn't make sense. He might not wear any gloves, but if he did, they might be bag gloves.

2) Why is there blood on the gloves? I would have thought he would have wrapped his hands (even for sparring)? He wouldn't even have to intricated wrap his hands like fight night. You can buy reusable cloth wraps.

Also, look at the LOA. They couldn't get Bill Mack to write out a letter because he was out of town, so his son wrote out this letter of provenance? That doesn't make me feel too confident. Also, "to the best of their knowledge" they were worn by Ali. Now that sentiment inspires confidence.

Not sure that helps at all...good luck!

Chris

buc
10-14-2009, 08:46 PM
[quote=staindsox;165048]