PDA

View Full Version : An Enjoyable Read - Packers Seamstress...

aeneas01
09-23-2009, 01:07 PM
01/08 - Uni Watch Profiles: Marge Switzer

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y238/aeneas1/ms00.jpg

When the Packers play the Seahawks tomorrow, one observer will be watching the events with particularly keen interest. That’s Marge Switzer (http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2013/2179161815_ccda9f965e_o.jpg), the Pack’s seamstress. In this high-tech football era, Marge is almost too perfect to be true: a sweet, smiling lady bent over a sewing machine (http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2345/2179950626_f4a343283e_o.jpg). She recently made time in her busy schedule to chat about her job.
Uni Watch: What exactly is your job title there?

Marge Switzer: I’m an independent contractor, not a team employee, but I’m considered the Packers’ seamstress.

UW: How and when did you start working for the Packers, and what were you doing before that?

MS: I owned a monogramming and embroidery company, called Threads. I started that in 1985 and closed it in 2001. Prior to that I was a professional seamstress, doing alterations for clothing stores. And I did some work for our local college here, St. Norbert’s, repairing their athletic apparel — football pants, jerseys, whatever. I was approached by the Packers’ equipment manager, Red Batty, to do some embroidery for them — primarily numbers, so clothing could be designated for a player.

UW: You mean as an internal identification system?

MS: Right. That would have been in 1996, when I still had Threads. And then closed Threads and came here full-time around 2001. To be perfectly honest, I couldn’t balance the two. You can’t run a business and do this job. And I have to tell you, I love this job.

UW: Are you the only seamstress there, or are you part of a sewing department, or what?