PDA

View Full Version : MLB Man Caught at CitiField

rmichne
09-10-2009, 08:16 PM
This is my first attempt at post with photos. Hope it works out ok.

I was at CitiField 9/9/09 and caught the MLB Authenticator doing his job. He was sitting to the right of the Mets dugout and was fed a steady diet of GU baseballs from 'Jimmy' the ballboy. Note the close-ups of the roll of MLB Holograms and accompanying barcodes. After applying the hologram to the ball he would attach the barcode to a notebook where he could log more details about the ball. He also seemed to have a small barcode reader with a keypad attached. Sorry for the blurry photo of him actually sticking the hologram on the ball.

We passed each other on the steps towards the end of the game and I looked at him, smiled and said "MLB Man." He smiled back and patted me on the back as we passed each other.

I thought you guys would like to see him in action. Hope you enjoy them.

Ron

emann
09-10-2009, 08:49 PM
Wait... isn't that Lou Lampson?!?! ;)

Seriously, thanks for posting those photos, it's a cool insight into the MLB auth process...

metsbats
09-10-2009, 08:53 PM
Thanks for sharing.

I often wondered how the game used balls that Amazing Memorabilia sells can definitively be attributed to a certain at bat and what the player did,etc. Now we know.

allstarsplus
09-10-2009, 11:01 PM
Great stuff! Just got home from the Nats / Phillies game and the MLB Authenticator in the home dugout caught a foul ball in the camera well which was very cool.

April 10, 1962
09-10-2009, 11:30 PM
He is also affiliated with law enforcement. All of the MLB Authenticators are part of the Security Program.

whatupyos
09-10-2009, 11:37 PM
What a bad assed job! Where do I sign up for that gig!!

coxfan
09-11-2009, 05:30 AM
Outstanding! Just what we've needed. Thanks.

April 10, 1962
09-11-2009, 09:30 AM