PDA

View Full Version : Nfl Slides/getty Images

BO34
05-27-2009, 09:11 PM
Hi quick question for the legal people out there...we use getty images and slides all the time to photo match our items.

If you purchase a slide that appears on the Getty website, can you stop Getty from having that image on their website for sale?

Just a thought but given the sky high prices they charge for just one photo, since we own the slide (and possibly the rights to that photo), aren't we the ones who have the final say?

Thinking out loud here but it might be something to look into...(might be a way to get a photo to a fellow game used universe member at a fair price).

Thanks,
MIKE
ALWAYS LOOKING FOR BO JACKSON GAME USED ITEMS

shoremen44
05-27-2009, 09:38 PM
I am not a lawyer, but I think by paying Getty you are paying the Photographer for the right to use his image in whatever particular way you are going to use it...

you dont actually own it... you are basically renting it

cordovacollector
05-27-2009, 10:31 PM
I'd sure look carefully at Getty to see what they say on their site. There is a huge difference between buying one time rights and all time rights.

rj_lucas
05-27-2009, 10:49 PM
Bert is correct. You're buying a license, not a photograph. Big difference.

In fact, if you license a rights-managed image (as opposed to a royalty free image) you're only authorized to use it for a fixed period (e.g. six months, one year, etc.), not in perpetuity (forever).

I have heard of companies who have purchased a license for a Getty image to use on their website for, say, six months, and received a cease and desist letter from Getty when they continued to display the image beyond the six month term.

Rick
rickjlucas@gmail.com

cordovacollector
05-27-2009, 11:04 PM
Bert is correct. You're buying a license, not a photograph. Big difference.