PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question about Game Issued vs Game/Pro Cut

skinsfan0521
04-08-2009, 09:06 PM
So, I'm new to the whole game used/issued thing... I'm really a sports card guy, now I'm getting into the memorabilia a bit more.

That being said, I know the obvious difference between the Game Used vs Game Issued, but I've never heard of this "Game/Pro Cut" before. What is it exactly? Is it the same as "Game Issued"? And what exactly makes something a "Game Issued" or "Game/Pro Cut" instead of just being an authentic jersey that I could get from a retail store?

Thank you VERY much for your answers!

-Brian

skinsfan0521
04-08-2009, 09:08 PM
Oh... and with either Game Issued or Game/Pro Cut is there anything that makes them more limited than just buying one from a retail store? What makes them more desirable than just buying an "authentic" jersey from a retail store?

Thanks again!

-Brian

kingjammy24
04-09-2009, 12:06 PM
"Game/Pro Cut" before. What is it exactly?"

there are 2 different opinions on the term. one opinion comes from collectors. the other opinion comes from dealers with skin in the game who profit from selling procuts as "game issued". ignore the latter for obvious reasons. if they weren't making money from bastardizing the term, they wouldn't feel the way they do.

a "pro cut" is a jersey that's almost identical to a game-issued shirt, except that it hasn't been legitimately issued to a team or player. it's difficult to provide a general definition that covers all of the bases because there exceptions and anomalies to the rule. they're a step above retail shirts. due to the similarity, you'll have dealers calling them "game issued" even though they aren't simply because it means some extra cash in their pocket.

"Is it the same as "Game Issued"?

no because they aren't game issued. a game issued shirt is one that was