PDA

View Full Version : Disappointing "Non" Purchase Experience

tbone90
02-26-2009, 08:31 PM
While I am a relatively new member to the GUU forum with only a few posts I have been an avid reader for an extended period of time. I've been collecting game used bats for approximately 15 years and generally keep my collection to around 100-120 bats. I've just recently had a very disappointing experience in trying to purchase a bat. I'm looking for opinions as to whether I'm way off base or not in my thinking as to how the situation unfolded.

I had requested pics one evening of a bat posted for sale (Collector to Collector). By the next mid day I had received the pics and the seller again stated his price for the bat. Within the hour of receiving the pics I received another email from the seller stating they had interest in the bat and for me to get back to them. Less then an hour later I replied that I would take the bat and how should I send payment. I was working so the delay was not intentional nor do I feel it was excessive. Approximately 3 1/2 hours later I received a brief email stating someone responded before me and the bat was sold.

My issue in a nut shell is I feel this type of dealing was/is very poor. If you offer an item for a person to purchase, especially to a person who has inquired about it, shouldn't you give them an opportunity to respond or actually make the purchase? I would never let someone question my intent to purchase. In the past when I've requested pics and the item was not what I was looking for I responded with a thank you but I'm going to pass. I feel that this is just simple courtesy. Am I wrong in thinking the handling of this was very poor and inappropriate?