PDA

View Full Version : AMI Steve Carlton

lund6771
09-23-2008, 01:25 PM
Does anyone have any thoughts about this Carlton warm-up?

Don't know much about baseball so any help would be appreciated!!!!

http://www.americanmemorabilia.com/Auction_Item.asp?Auction_ID=46321

hblakewolf
09-23-2008, 07:35 PM
Does anyone have any thoughts about this Carlton warm-up?

Don't know much about baseball so any help would be appreciated!!!!

http://www.americanmemorabilia.com/Auction_Item.asp?Auction_ID=46321

Lund-

I’ve been collecting game worn Phillies jerseys for over 25 years. I purchased over 600 Phillies jerseys dating from the early 70’s through the mid 90’s directly from the team. Included were several dozen of these maroon pre-games.

I have provided a few photos of my 1980 game worn Carlton pre-game that I obtained directly from the team, to allow a comparison to be made to the jersey being offered by AMI

After a quick review of the photos of the AMI Carlton jersey, it may be easier to mention what’s correct with it as opposed to being questionable!

Here’s a quick summary of the problems with this jersey:

NUMBERS ON BACK: The numbers should be the block style as sewn on the sleeve. The numbers on the back are “curved” style only worn on the game jerseys, not these pregames. Note how the numbers on my jersey are the same style on the sleeve and the back.

NAME ON BACK: The vertical arch lettering is not correct for Wilson or the style used on the Phillies pre-games or jerseys. Specifically, note how the A comes to a point. Wilson style lettering should have a flat (not pointed) top, Likewise, the horizontal right leg on the R is incorrect.