PDA

View Full Version : Fake Ken Griffey Jr. game used bat on eBay!

gameusedbat
06-16-2008, 06:25 AM
Hey guys,

Beware this Ken Griffey Jr. bat on eBay represented as a game used bat from the 90's being sold by swingman-24. Click here to see the fake Griffey bat (http://cgi.ebay.com/Griffey-Jr-Game-Used-Bat-Reds-Mariners-91-93-Very-Rare_W0QQitemZ250259513227QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item 250259513227&_trkparms=72%3A552%7C39%3A1%7C65%3A12&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14).

I emailed the seller originally when the auction stated rookie 1989 game used bat. I went on to explain to this man that Griffey didn't sign his contract until the early 90's. I also pointed out how this bat could not have been a game used bat because it isn't even a pro model bat. All of a sudden, he changed the information to a 1991-93 game used bat. This was his response to me:

"Thank you so much for your info, but you are so wrong. This bat was given to me by Ken Griffey Jr. in the early 90's. I was a police officer in Orange County during that time. I have met Jr on many occasions, the last being in San Deigo this year. See attached of a few pictures of Jr and I.
David"

So now, we can be confident that the owner of this bat is behind the foul play if he claims to have gotten a promo Griffey bat with criss cross tape from Junior that never was issued to him 6-8 years before Louisville Slugger even used this particular oval!

There are so many things wrong with this bat, but here are a few for the rookies:

(1) Griffey primarily ordered Smith double dipped finish bats. This alone would not cause a problem, but just raises a flag.

(2) The distance between the 125 and Louisville is too far, indicating a line under the 125 that has been concealed.

(3) The oval of this bat didn't go into production until 1998. The owner claims he got the bat personally from Griffey in the early 90's. Impossible.