PDA

View Full Version : deals gone bad for no apparent reason

Dewey2007
02-04-2008, 05:23 PM
I just recently had a deal I made for a jersey fall through with no reason given to me from the seller as to why. The dealer and I agreed upon a price through e-mail, he sent a PayPal request for payment and I paid it promptly. Then this morning I get an e-mail indicating my payment is being returned. I sent a couple of requests asking why he reneged on the deal but have gotten no response. It was surprising because I had bought two jerseys from him previously and both transactions were smooth.

I'm new to the hobby so in general is the seller in most cases afforded the right to back out on a agreed upon deal w/o question? Is this common? What few items I have sold I have honored the listed/agreed upon price regardless of if I thought it might have been worth more. I guess it's just frustrating and disappointing when folks say their going to sell something or buy something and don't do it.

Anyhow, I just wanted throw it out there and see if anyone had any similar experiences.

allstarsplus
02-04-2008, 07:16 PM
I am a dealer/collector and it has happened to me too, but generally you get a reason.

I had a dealer reneg on a deal only to find that he never owned the bat in the first place. He knew someone who had it and sold it to me before he secured it from the other party and then after I paid he found the guy that owned the bat sold it to someone else.

You know the old saying, screw me once shame on you, screw me twice shame on me.

There are plenty of honest dealers/sellers out there!

Good luck. Andrew

Dewey2007
02-04-2008, 09:32 PM
Yeah I've dealt with a number of good people and this was just one of those times it didn't work out. Common courtesy and honoring a deal isn't to much to ask. Just had to vent I guess.

If anyone has a Isaiah "J.R." Rider Lakers jersey they'd be interested in selling please let me know. Thanks!

10thMan
02-04-2008, 10:00 PM