PDA

View Full Version : How long have you been collecting for and how did you start out??

kylehess10
01-24-2008, 05:01 AM
Title says it all....

I've been collecting since January, 2006. My collection originally consisted of just 3 items: A Chipper Jones game used bat, a Glenn Hubbard game used bat, and a Horacio Ramirez locker room nameplate. I still have those 3 pieces, but in the past 2 years I've gained my collection up to having about 50 pieces. I have everything from Ken Griffey Jr.'s All Star Game helmet to Carlos Guillen's shower sandle. I used to mainly collect game used cards, with those lone 3 pieces of game used memorabilia in my collection, but after my brother got me a pair of Chipper Jones game worn batting gloves for Christmas, 2005, I decided to quit with cards and start collecting full game used memorabilia. I sold every single game used card I had and got quite a pretty penny from it, which I turned around to get my new collection started. I love every bit of it!

skyking26
01-24-2008, 06:30 AM
Back in the late 70's my brother and I had a running rivalry. He was a huge Tigers fan, I followed the Cubs. No particular reason, they were on here in the Detroit area on cable when I got home fom high school. Dave Kingman became my player to watch, so I began collecting his cards along with assembling my usual yearly Topps sets.

As time went on, that manifested into oddball material, and 10 years later my first GU purchase in 89 was a '75 Mets home jersey and a 84/85 Louisville Kingman bat. While in college I started to put together bats and a jersey here and there, but the oddball collecting and autos were mostly the thing. Today, I have soon to be 10 of his jerseys, about 24 bats, and pursue bats of the Tiger championship teams along with auto'd baseballs of HOF's and local stars.

3arod13
01-24-2008, 06:44 AM