PDA

View Full Version : Tim Brown 'Game Used Helmet' on eBay

chrisjo33
01-19-2008, 02:40 AM
Hey guys :)

I have a question for the experts about a Tim Brown Raiders Game Used helmet that sold on eBay a few days ago, which can be seen at the following link:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=150200990299

I have attached photos from the auction, showing the actual item. The description makes it sound like it is an authentic game used helmet worn by Tim Brown, however I just wanted to get some opinions as there were a few things that didn't seem to add up quite right:

1) I'm far from an expert, but the helmet in the photos appears to be a Riddell Pro Line Authentic Helmet. From all of the pics/game footage I have seen of Tim Brown, he always wore the Revolution style helmet (with the holes in the top) and a 4-point chin strap, with the inner strap clipping up towards the top of the helmet by the Raider shield.

2) The chin strap he wore always seemed to be the one with the holes in it, whereas the one in the eBay pics has no holes.

3) The eBay photo of the back of the helmet shows the big 'RAIDERS' lettering, but I have never seen this on the back of any of Tim Brown's helmets (no lettering whatsoever).

4) Same for the "Riddell" lettering on the front of the helmet. I have been through hundreds of TB photos and his helmets always had 'Raiders' on the front.

I have compared photos from gettyimages.com and even in Tim Brown's rookie year (1988) he wore the same Revolution style helmet, with the same 4-point chin strap. He also wore this type of helmet in practice. Does anyone know of any instance or have any evidence showing that Tim Brown may have worn the type of helmet pictured in the eBay photos?